Professionalism in Practice – DEAD BURGLARS’ SOCIETY (Nick & Jorge)

For Nick and Jorge’s shoot, I took on the role as sound recordist and boom operator.

Production on their film, Dead Burglars’ Society, had a very sprawling production schedule that I found to be very inconvenient at times. Given the nature of their script, many actors and location were required to cover the scenes they needed to shoot and I wondered before production whether they had bitten off more than they could chew.

DSC_0011          DSC_0013

At times, Nick would call me or message me when and where they were shooting without providing a call sheet or anything of the sort which resulted in mutiple days where shooting commenced in short bursts (e.g. three hours shooting on a Saturday afternoon).

Despite not having to endure long shoot days that can be pretty tiring, I found this method of scheduling shoots to be very unprofessional as well proving an incovenience to me as I had other projects to work on, as well as my own projects to finish. The fact the shooting in short bursts means that an end to the production is nowhere in sight made me feel as if I was forcing myself to commit to long-term thing that wasn’t being handled very efficiently from a production stand-point.

DSC_0024         DSC_0023

Because of this, I withdrew from myself from the production toward its final stages due to the uncertainity of its schedule. I did not know when they were planning to shoot anymore, nor did I know where and I could not afford to keep my days open and free when I had other stuff I needed to get done as well.

From this experience, I learned that organising your production meticulously and planning and scheduling everything out thoroughly makes principal photography on your film run a lot smoother. Also it helps in the sense that your crew knows exactly how many days and hours they are needed for, allowing them to fully plan out their personal schedules ahead of time.

Leave a comment

Filed under MDA2900 - Producing & Directing: Film Form & Practice

Leave a Reply

