Book Trailer – Feedback & Comments

Just from what I feared from when we wrapped production, people who were unfamiliar of the Watchmen story did not get the story from the trailer we screened. Many felt that it resembled more of teaser ad than an actual trailer due to what little was shown on screen. This was due to logistical limitations as I stated on my previous blog post.

Also, the fight sequence in our trailer was commented on as being too staged and fake; one of my cohort members suggested that if I were to shoot a fight scene with two actors that have had no fight training, the trick is to cover it from many different angles and cut it extremely quickly, to give the sense that there is real damage being dealt to the actors as the audience won’t be able to pick up on the staged movement as it’s cut too fast. This is criticism I’ll definitely take on board if I were to shoot another fight scene in the future.

In hindsight, perhaps me and Fred did choose the wrong idea to go with for this book trailer project as the trailer we wanted to make logistically couldn’t be done with the resources we had. Perhaps looking for a novel which was set in an environment closer to us in actuality is what we should have went for in order to realistically convey a story within the trailer.

My whole experience producing overall was a hard one and I have learned a lot from it. Producing is an aspect of filmmaking I greatly respect but also one that I am loathe to do as the mindset of producing doesn’t come naturally to me. The amount of paperwork and the organising of all the logistics on a shoot is something which I have little talent for. I imagine that once you work on larger film productions the role of a producer is lessened somewhat as all the responsiblities that you would have to do yourself on a student film can be delegated to other crew roles (i.e. catering, travel, costume sourcing, props sourcing, casting etc.). Even so, I enjoy more the creative aspect of filmmaking rather than the logistical aspect.

Leave a comment

Filed under MDA2900 - Producing & Directing: Film Form & Practice

Leave a Reply

