Introduction to DSLRs – The Canon 7D

canon 7d

As part of our MDA2400 workshop this week, were formally inducted into using the Canon 7D. We were given a quick tutorial on its basic functions as well as utilising it practically for a short filming exercise which I incidentally found trouble with.

I’ve never been familiar with using a DSLR for filming as nearly all the productions I have been a part of in the past have employed the use of a professional camcorder. If truth be told, I’m far more comfortable with using a big professional camera than using a DSLR for filming. There is something about it that for me feels bizarre. This probably stems from the fact that I’ve always viewed DSLRs as being solely for photography and never for motion picture filming.

In regards to filming my short exercise, I found trouble with the focus and the different strengths and weaknesses of each lens that the 7D comes with. Previously I have never had to switch lenses on cameras that I have used so this was and will be a new experience for me when I use this camera for my own productions this year.

However, having said this, I think I’m pretty confident in my ability to adapt to change and will eventually get used to operating a DSLR when it comes to shooting my films in future. The prospect of changing lenses could potentially provide a new learning curve for me as now this would force me to consider my framing and the composition of my shots a lot more vigilantly. I am very much looking forward to this.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under MDA2400 - The Filmmaker's Vision: Style & Theory

Leave a Reply

